Thursday, August 11th, 2022
Home »General News » Pakistan » Opposition divide makes Alvi’s win in presidential election easier

  • News Desk
  • Sep 5th, 2018
  • Comments Off on Opposition divide makes Alvi’s win in presidential election easier
Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Dr Arif Alvi has been elected as the 13th President of Pakistan. According to unofficial results, PTI candidate Dr Arif Alvi bagged a total of 353 electoral votes, opposition alliance's candidate Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam (JUI-F) emir Maulana Fazlur Rehman received 185 and Pakistan People's Party (PPP) candidate Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan obtained 124 votes.

Alvi was contesting against joint opposition candidate JUI-F emir Maulana Fazlur Rehman and PPP candidate Aitzaz Ahsan. Polling for the presidential election commenced at 10:00am and concluded at 4:00pm. Members cast their votes through secret ballot for the presidential election.

Prime Minister Imran Khan, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) President Shahbaz Sharif, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and PPP Co-Chairman Asif Ali Zardari were among the lawmakers who cast their votes.

According to a press statement of Election Commission of Pakistan, the total number of seats in the electoral college was 1,174 out of which 52 seats were vacant/result withheld or oath was not taken by the returned candidates in the Senate and assemblies. The remaining 1,122 voters exercised their right of vote.

According to result of count received from all the presiding officers, the number of voters who have actually exercised their right is 1,110. Out of these votes, 27 votes were declared invalid by the presiding officers. Thus, the total number of valid votes cast was 1,083.

The Election Commission of Pakistan would officially announce the results of presidential election today (Wednesday). However, the result has been determined in the light of the provision of paragraph-18 of the Second Schedule of the Constitution and according to which Arif-ur-Rehman Alvi secured 353 votes whereas Fazl-ur-Rehman secured 185 votes and Aitzaz Ahsan bagged 124 votes.

The ruling alliance candidate Arif Alvi was expected to get 349 votes while he got four more votes. Maulana Fazlur Rehman was expected to get 199 votes but he obtained 14 votes less than expectations and Aitzaz Ahsan of PPP who was expected to get 115 votes received 9 more votes.

Parliament (National Assembly, Senate):

Chief Justice of Islamabad High Court Justice Mohammad Anwar Khan Kasi presided over the polling process in the Parliament. A total of 430 members out of 431 [330 MNAs and 101 senators] cast their votes in the National Assembly and Senate. Six votes were rejected while one member of the Parliament did not cast vote. The PTI's candidate Dr Arif Alvi bagged 212 votes, Maulana Fazlur Rehman obtained 131 votes and Aitzaz Ahsan received 81 votes.

Punjab Assembly

Chief Justice of Lahore High Court Justice Yawar Ali presided over the polling process while Election Commissioner Punjab, Zafar Iqbal Hussain, performed duties as returning officer.

In Punjab Assembly, a total of 351 votes were cast out of 354 while 18 votes were rejected. Dr Arif Alvi obtained 186 votes, Maulana Fazlur Rehman secured 141 votes and Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan got six votes.

Sindh Assembly

Sindh High Court Chief Justice Ahmed Ali Shaikh performed the duty of presiding officer in the Sindh Assembly. A total of 158 votes were cast out of 163 and one vote was rejected. PPP candidate Aitzaz Ahsan secured the highest 100 electoral votes followed by PTI candidate Arif Alvi who received 56 votes and Maulana Fazlur Rehman got one vote.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly

Peshawar High Court Chief Justice Waqar Ahmad Seth supervised the polling process in the KPK Assembly.

A total of 111votes out of 112 were cast by the lawmakers for presidential election while two votes were rejected.

Dr Arif Alvi got 78 votes, Maulana Fazl-ur-Rehman of joint opposition received 26 votes while Aitzaz Ahsan received 5 votes.

Balochistan Assembly

A total of 60 members out of 61 of the provincial assembly polled their votes. One lawmaker did not cast his vote in the election.

Dr Arif Alvi of PTI declared as winner as he bagged 45 votes while his rival candidate Maulana Fazlur Rehman of JUI (F) secured 15 votes. Chaudhry Aitzaz Ahsan did not get any vote from the provincial assembly.

Dr Arif Alvi is expected to take oath of office of the President on September 9.

Dr Arif Alvi is a dentist by profession. He holds professional degrees from De Montmorency College of Dentistry, an affiliate of University of Punjab, University of Michigan and University of the Pacific, San Francisco.

Dr Arif Alvi is married with Samina Alvi and they have four children, all married and settled with their families abroad. Dr Alvi is the pioneer among the PTI leaders and is in fact a founding member of PTI who had joined party Chairman Imran Khan in his early days of political struggle.

Copyright Business Recorder, 2018

the author