Home »General News » Pakistan » Ex-CJP Mulk chosen as caretaker PM

As second consecutive democratic setup is set to complete its term on May 31, Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk, a former Chief Justice of Pakistan and a nominee of the ruling PML-N, was Monday named as caretaker prime minister for a period of two months to hold general election on July 25, 2018.

The consensus on former justice was reached in the consultation process between Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Leader of the Opposition in National Assembly Syed Khursheed Ahmad Shah who announced the name at a joint news conference here at the Parliament House in the presence of Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq.

"Today is an important day in the country's democratic journey, as we have reached consensus on one name as the caretaker prime minister after consultation with all political parties," said Prime Minister Abbasi.

He said that former Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk has a clean and clear past, adding that the decision to finalize one name was not an easy task but finally such a person was nominated against whom no one can point an accusing finger.

"I am optimistic that his [Mulk] role as the caretaker prime minister will be in favor of the county and the democratic process," Prime Minister Abbasi hoped and also thanked all the political parties including the Speaker for their input and the help towards the final decision.

He said the name was finalized after several rounds of consultations spanning over six weeks between him and the leader of the opposition, adding that Shah had also made consultations with other opposition parties.

The Prime Minister then invited Shah to announce the name of former Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk as the caretaker prime minister who stated that there were six names under consideration at the initial stage but former Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk was picked from the two additional names. The other name was Jalil Abbas Jilani, Pakistan's former ambassador to the United States, he added.

"Indeed, it is an important and a historic decision that we have made today as it had become a routine discussions on TV talk shows that the politicians and the parliament could not take decisions," Shah said.

He said that former Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk is the consensus nominee and expressed the confidence that with his impeccable credentials, he would be able to hold general election in a free, fair and transparent manner.

He said it is also important that once again another elected assembly is completing its mandated five years term. He said the next elections are very crucial as Pakistan is passing through many challenges and problems.

He also hoped that a fair transition would take place following the general election and whosoever gets mandate of the people would take the country forward on the path of progress and prosperity.

Speaker National Assembly Ayaz Sadiq said it is a historic decision and would prove to be good for democracy and the country. "The consensus decision is well in favor of the country and the continuation of democratic process," he said, adding that it is a triumph of democracy and the Parliament to agree on a one name as the caretaker prime minister.

Hailing from Mingora, Swat, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Justice Mulk took oath as Chief Justice of Pakistan on July 06, 2014 and served for about a year before his retirement on July 16, 2015. During his tenure as judge of the Supreme Court, he also served as acting chief election commissioner of Pakistan.

Earlier, the government had reportedly suggested the names of former Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk, former Justice Tassaduq Hussain Jilani and former State Bank Governor Dr Shamshad Akhtar if the matter was to be referred to the parliamentary committee while PPP had proposed the names of former Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Zaka Ashraf and former Ambassador to the US Jalil Abbass Jilani.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) nominations were former Justice Tassaduq Hussain Jilani, former State Bank governor Dr Ishrat Hussain and former minister Abdul Razzaq Daud.

Copyright Business Recorder, 2018

the author