Sunday, September 24th, 2017
Home »Top Stories » PM, not finance minister, to head ECC
Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi has taken the charge of the chairman Economic Co-ordination Committee (ECC) of the Cabinet from Finance Minister Ishaq Dar, according to a notification issued by the Cabinet Division. The notification says the new prime minister will now be the chairman of the ECC and Finance Minister Ishaq Dar would be one of the members of this premier economic decision-making body.

Finance Minister Ishaq Dar, who used to enjoy complete confidence of former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, had been the chairman of the ECC since 2013, a forum that takes important and urgent decisions on economic matters after deliberations.

The notification issued by the Cabinet Division states that the Prime Minister has been pleased to reconstitute the ECC of the Cabinet and the composition includes: the Prime Minister would be chairman of the ECC while members of the ECC include; (i) minister for finance, revenue & economic affairs; (ii) minister for commerce and textile; (iii) minister for communications; (iv) minister for industries & production; (v) minister for law & justice; (vi) minister for national food security & research; (vii) minister for privatization (if and when appointed); (viii) minister for railways; (ix) minister for statistics; (x) and minister for water resources.

Those by special invitation include: (i) minister of state for petroleum; (ii) minister of state for power; (iii) governor State Bank of Pakistan; (iv) chairman Securities & Exchange Commission of Pakistan; (v) chairman Board of Investment; (vi) secretary Commerce Division; (vii) secretary Communications Division; (viii) secretary Economic Affairs Division; (ix) secretary Finance Division; (x) secretary, Industries & Production Division; (xi) secretary National Food Security & Research Division; (xii) secretary Planning, Development and Reform Division; (xiii) secretary Petroleum Division; (xiv) secretary Power Division; (xv) secretary Privatization Division; (xvi) secretary Railways Division; (xvii) secretary Revenue Division; (xviii) secretary Statistics Division; (xix) secretary Textile Division; (xx) and secretary Water Resource Division. The notification further noted that in case of prime minister''s absence due to any other commitment, minister for finance will chair the meeting.

the author