Tuesday, September 26th, 2017
Home »Cotton and Textiles » Pakistan » PCGA announces election schedule for 2017-18
Pakistan Cotton Ginners Association (PCGA) has announced the election schedule for 2017-18. An interim electoral list was issued and the voters can change the name of firms or correct the names of voters through an application till July 20. New electoral roll on division basis would be issued on July 22nd. Muhammad Asif Khalil, secretary general of PCGA and Tauqeer Shah would be returning officer and deputy returning officer.

The Agenda of the PCGA's general body meeting will be declared on July 29th. Objections regarding the voter list would be decided on August 2nd.Appeals against the returning officer/Secretary General can be filed till August 5 to the Election Commission and these will be decided on August 8.Aggrieved party can move to regulator of Trade Organisations till August 11 and the regulator will decide the appeals on August 18. The final list of voters will be declared on August 21st.

The CEC approved the appointment of election commission, returning officers and election rules. A senior member Sardar Khalil Ahmed Aliani will be chairman and Sajjad Hussain Goraya and Mehfooz Ahmed will be member of election commission The CEC also reviewed the forthcoming cotton season and expressed hope that cotton production would be better in spite of water shortage and sowing less than targets. The candidature for the CEC's 15 seat would be accepted till August 25, scrutiny of nomination papers on August 26, appeals against the acceptance or rejection of candidatures on August 27, election commission would give decision on the appeals against the scrutiny committee's decision on August 29, 2016. Decision of election commission could be challenged before the Regulator till August 31st. Decision on these appeals will be made on September 7. Withdrawal of papers on September 7 and final list of candidates would be published on September 9.

Elections in North and South Zones would be held on September 18 top elect the Chairman, Senior Vice Chairman and Vice Chairman. Official results will be notified on September 20. Nomination papers for Chairman and two vice chairmen may be submitted on September 18, scrutiny of nomination papers on September 19 and election will be held on September 28 in PCGA House, Multan. Central Executive Council chaired by Dr Jasso Mal took a number of decisions to recover the amount from Textile millers.

the author